Setting eggs under Cookie the Broody

Went to pick up the fertile eggs yesterday, 2.5 hrs round trip but worth the drive..

I move Cookie to her new home after dark, I dust her and the new home with Pestene..

I think it took her a few moment to realise what just happen, because she just sat there and let me do what I like and let me move her to the new nest.. I lock her in the pen and proceed to fill the water bottle for the other chooks… When I come back with the filled bottle, I found Cookie off her nest… pacing the pen, trying to get out and back to her old nest..

I took me a couple of go, putting the nest in different position in the pen hoping for her to settle again with not much luck :hmmm:.

What I end up doing, is put the nest in the darkest corner in the pen, leave her pacing the pen and turn off all the light in the yard..

I went back to the house and peek through the blind… So tempted to go out there and set her back on the nest… but OH kept me in the house away from the window :|

15 mins later, the first chance I can get away from OH and peak through the blind again… I want to scream and jump up and down with joy… Cookie is back sitting on her nest..

After work today, come home and check on Cookie before I even get in the house.. Like a good broody that she is.. sitting tight on her nest…

I just stick 10 fertile eggs under Cookie, as before she just ‘wiggle’ her chest and take them all in.. success :thumbs:

just a picture of Cookie sitting tight on the nest in her temp home.. :woot:
Image

I am going to find out, how soon I can candle the egg, I need to do this to made sure the eggs are indeed fertile and ‘developing’.. I think people normally do it around day 10.. so will find out and keep you posted.

The eggs will take a few hours to warm up, so I will count tomorrow as Day 1, and day 10 should be Thursday the 17th June and if all goes well, the babies should be hatch around Day 21 and that would be Monday 28th June.

Another thing I have notice.. Cookie’s wattle and comb have shrunk.. they are noticeably smaller… see her comb (Cookie on the right, photo taken 8th May) was the same size as PinkLady, but now her wattle and comb is barely noticeable. I think in the chooks’ world.. it is their way to tell the rooster.. don’t look at me, don’t bother me.. I am not in the mood..

IMG_2258.jpg

Until next time.. happy booding..

Leave a Reply

