Babies.. 3 weeks today

My babies is turning 3 weeks today..

The amount of poo they produce really stink out the bathroom… I have made a decision to move them out.. but I can’t really leave them out there with JouDan and Coffee because the Big Chook will pick the babies to death..

We went to the market yesterday morning.. I am hoping to find some sort of bird cage or hatch that I can use to protect the babies while being out there with the Big Chooks…

You can’t imagine my joy when I saw this galvanize crate (for use at the back of the ute) for sale at the very entrance where we walk in.. Told K I must have it for my babies.. K being K.. will not let me commit.. made me walk all the market to made sure there is nothing cheaper or better..

Saw a pet carrier, one with plastic bottom and cage top.. a fairly large one that can house my 4 babies quiet comfortably.. look worn but only for $20.. Point that out to K again.. and he shake his head.. “This thing is not going to last” he said..

After about 40 mins.. we did not find anymore.. my daring K walk me back to the guy who sell the crate and let me buy it.. even-though it is more that double the cost of that pet carrier.. I am so happy..  I have also grab another bargain buy.. 3 x Large Feta Cheese bucket with seal lids for only $5 (good for keeping the chicken feed away from the possum).. very happy..

Back home.. I have 30 mins to prep and move my chicks before I am due to go out with my sister.. didn’t get a chance to take a photo than, but what I did is, turn one of the Feta bucket on the side for their shelter, line the base with newspaper and some straw.. use the lid from the bucket as a base for their food and drink.. I am so proud of the set up.. time to bring out the chicks..

This is the photo I took this morning of their new home.. they are set out in the ‘waste land’ with JouDan and Coffee. This crate come with a lid as well to protect them from the attack from above.

JouDan and Coffee don’t really seems interested in the babies as long as they stay in the crate and away from their food.. this morning when I open the lid, on of the babies (Ranga or Foghorn, not sure which as I can no longer tell them apart 😦 ) flew over the crate and invade the big Chooks space.. look like it is a big no no because Coffee basically  launch into attach mode and peak the poor baby in the neck and I have to intervene and save the baby from being peak to death…

That attack incident attract the attention from the big Chook, now they constantly walking around the crate looking at what the little one are doing..

The hole of the crate is large enough for the babies to stick their head out of the crate and eat the grass surrounding the crate.. The big Chooks will go around the peak at the little head they see pocking out.. I know the integration between the big Chooks and the babies will be hard, I just hope it will get easier and the babies should be able to defense themselves when they get bigger.. by that time, it will be 4 against 1 (side note: Coffee crow yesterday morning.. his life span is now limited).

Other photos of the babies when the ‘lid’ is open.. this is before the attack incident..

The babies love to roost

Check out ‘All Black’ (temp name, this is the one without the white patch next to the mouth) roosting on top of the crate.. the Big Chooks were busy scratching for food.. not giving the invader any attention..

More roosting chicks

These 2 babies checking out all the yummy green on the ‘other side’..

This little Chickies have a dead wish..

This little baby is getting ready to invade the other side.. I think she should check her size before attempting stunt like that again..

Leave a Reply

